Quick and easy guide to securely erasing everything on your iPhone
Whether you’re starting fresh with an existing iPhone or selling the handset on to somebody else, one thing you’ll need to do is make sure all of your data is removed. You wouldn’t want anybody else looking at your private pictures, right? Of course you wouldn’t! So to ensure this doesn’t happen, you need to completely reset the iPhone right back to its factory settings.
If you need to reset your device, follow these simple steps:
Before we move forward – you should be aware
that what you are about do will wipe everything from your device. So make sure you have plugged your iPhone 5 into iTunes and made a back-up, because you don’t want to end up losing something of value.
Grab your iPhone
Right at the bottom of the screen you’ll find a tab labelled ‘Reset’ – hit it
On the next screen you will see a list of things which you can reset – all of which are useful in sorting out potential problems, but we’re concentrating on the whole kit and caboodle today, so go ahead and tap ‘Erase All Content and Settings’
You will be asked to confirm that you wish to continue, tap ‘Yes’
Your iPhone will, after a short wait, be wiped clean, ready for you to start afresh